Hungarian Goulash Soup

This fantastic recipe has somewhat of a long story.

When the Hubbs and I were first married, he would happily eat anything I made without one word of complaint. He would definitely still praise and compliment the meals that he DID like, which of course was much appreciated by myself the ‘chef’. But after a few months of noticing certain meals he made no comment on, I decided to try something different.

So one night, after yet another unsuccessful meal, I asked him what some of his favourite meals were growing up. After all, my cooking is no comparison to the scrumptious meals his mother makes 🙂 So the Hubbs listed off a few meals he liked, but one of them sounded particularly intriguing to me. Evidently, is was Hungarian Goulash. Now, being the proud ‘chef’ that I am, I decided to browse on the internet for a recipe. Seeing none that looked overly tasty to me, I thought I would try combining a few to come up with my own creation! The result?!?! Well, it looked appetizing enough…

So I called Hubby to the table, hoping for the best! When he looked at the meal, I could tell instantly that something wasn’t quite right; he looked slightly confused. His first comment “Uhm, did you get this recipe from my Mom?!” So I admitted to him that I was too proud and tried it out on my own first. So, we daringly took a bite. The REAL result?!?! An absolute FAIL! It was MUCH too powerful a flavour and served over mushy noodles 😦 But thinking back now, the expression on Hubby’s face was quite hilarious!

So the next day, I caved in and asked his mom for the recipe. The NEW result?!?! AMAZING!!!!!!

Hungarian Goulash Soup

So without further delay, I give you…..HUNGARIAN GOULASH SOUP! (with a few minor adjustments to feed our small family)

Hungarian Goulash Soup

8 slices Bacon, chopped
1 large Onion, chopped
1 Green Pepper, chopped
2 cloves Garlic, minced
1 pound Ground Beef
2 Tbsp Paprika
2 Tbsp Brown Sugar
1/2 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp Pepper
1 (14.5oz) can diced tomatoes
3 1/2 cups beef broth
3-4 med Potatoes
Sour Cream

Directions:

In a large pot, at medium high heat, cook bacon until almost crisp. Add pepper, onion and garlic; cook until tender. Add ground beef and cook through. Sprinkle in paprika, salt, pepper and sugar. Stir thoroughly. Add tomatoes and broth. Bring to boil, reduce heat to low and simmer for 30 minutes. Add potatoes and return to medium heat, cook until potatoes are soft (about 20 minutes). Dish it up and serve with sour cream 🙂 Serves roughly 4 adults.

Leave a Reply

